Home

According to Matthew Hussey, I need to set myself an ultimatum for the next three months. I need to commit to taking every opportunity to talk to and flirt with men and go at it with passion and intensity.

This is good advice. There’s just one problem – I have been doing exactly that for the past 10 years or more. For over a decade I’ve been saying yes to every social event, I’ve been picking which train carriage I get in depending whether there’s a random cute guy sitting in there, I’ve been seeing every night out as a potential chance to meet a guy.

Having done this for 12 years, I can tell you – it’s EXHAUSTING.

There are some lyrics from How Soon Is Now? by The Smiths which I always think illustrate this perfectly (yes, I’m quoting Smiths lyrics):

There’s a club if you’d like to go
You could meet somebody who really loves you
So you go and you stand on your own
And you leave on your own
And you go home and you cry
And you want to die

When you say it’s gonna happen “now”
Well when exactly do you mean?
See I’ve already waited too long
And all my hope is gone

But, The Smiths have a tendency to be a little depressing, so let’s be positive about this. I will set myself a goal for the next three months: I will give my number to more random guys (let’s aim for five a week) and be flirty with them while I do it. I’ll also spend more time in the city centre.

Leave a Reply

